Small Unexpected Surprises

Going into this past weekend I was just ready to relax, go through with the plans I had made, and take time to work on homework and studying.  I headed to my hometown to babysit for a family that lives close to that area. Half way there I got a text from the family saying that their plans were canceled and they didn’t need me to babysit any longer.  This news was sort of discouraging and upsetting because I was looking forward to see the kids and be able to make some money. I really didn’t want to drive all the way back to Edwardsville and waste my gas so I decided to drive to my mom’s house to stop by and talk.

surprise

Surprise Visit taken by Alex Englen

As soon as I got to my mom’s house I got a phone call from one of my friends from Murray, informing me that her and a few other people were in my hometown stopped to get something to eat.  She explained that they were on their way to a mission trip in Colorado.  At first, I didn’t believe her because it was so random.  She challenged me to drive to the subway that was a few minutes from my house to see if they were there.  Sure enough, a group of my friends from Murray were all running towards my car when I pulled into the Subway.

It was such a blessing to get to see them even if it was only for a few minutes.  It’s funny to think that only a few minutes before I got her call I was upset that I had driven all the way to my hometown for no reason.  I love when small, unexpected surprises happen right as you get down because you aren’t upset for long.  Sometimes those unexpected  surprises make you whole day and that’s exactly what my friends did.

Leave a Reply

