Hawaii for Spring Break? Yes, please.

hawaii mom

Hawaii taken by Sondra Upcurch

Spring break usually isn’t something I get all crazy and excited about.  I’m not a big fan of the stereotypical college spring break where you go to the beach and party all day long.  I don’t find that as enjoyable as going and doing something that you will be able to remember and make lasting memories with family.  Last year my mom surprised me with plane tickets to Colorado.  It was such a great trip because my mom got to spend some quality time together skiing and seeing our old friends from there.  I think that trip kind of set a sort of tradition for my mom and I. That just us two will be traveling and spending time together for the next few spring breaks I will have.

Not too long ago, I thought we wouldn’t be able to spend spring break together because she was notified from her work that she would have to be traveling the days that my spring break fell on.  This news was a bummer until she found out where she would be traveling to.  Hawaii was were she was assigned to go during my spring break.  So what did I do when I found out? I begged her to bring me.  Which she later said wasn’t necessary since she already planned on bringing me after learning where she would be going.

Now that there is only 2 weeks until spring break we have been frantically planning our trip and making sure that we have everything organized.  This will be my first time going to Hawaii so I really don’t know what to expect, besides what I have seen on television or in magazines.  It will be my moms second time in Hawaii so she will at least be familiar with some things.  I have done a lot of research and it also helps that two of my friends used to live there so they have been giving me advice on what I should do while I am there.

Leave a Reply

